flowers-books-_491804-29

In a world of omnipresent screens, it can be easy to forget the simple pleasure of curling up with a good book. But the truth is that reading books can be more than just entertainment. A study suggests that enjoying literature might help strengthen your “mind-reading” abilities and also to improve your general knowledge.

I’m not a bookworm, but when I find a book I really like…I don’t let go of it ! Can’t say I enjoyed reading all my life, especially when I was younger, but growing up I started reading novels and books containing life teachings, like: “Preparing for Adolescence” by James Dobson. Great book! I’ve read books along the way that had a big impact in my life and modified my actions in a positive way.

I’ll give you a few strong reasons why reading is good:

1. Reading can relax you.

If you’re stressed out…pick up a book! A research conducted in 2009 at Mind-lab International showed that reading was the most effective way to overcome stress, beating out old favorites such as listening to music, enjoying a cup of tea or coffee and even taking a walk. Which was surprising for me also because I love listening to music and consider it very relaxing.
“It really doesn’t matter what book you read, by losing yourself in a thoroughly engrossing book you can escape from the worries and stresses of the everyday world and spend a while exploring the domain of the author’s imagination.” study researcher Dr. David Lewis.

2. It could help keep your brain sharp.

A lifetime of reading might just help keep your brain in shape when you reach old age. It’s important to exercise your brain everyday, and if you’re not a math fan then reading is the best solution. And if you enjoy playing games there are a few built for training your memory, attention and more. An example is “Lumosity” an app I have on my phone, it’s really good and used by over 50 million users.

3. Helps you avoid Alzheimer’s disease.

Adults who engage in hobbies that involve the brain, like reading or puzzles, are less likely to have Alzheimer’s disease. Games like: Rubik Cube, Sudoku and others.

4. Reading may help you sleep better.

I don’t know about other people but if I read before bed, I get sleepy immediately. This is a de-stressing routine before bed to calm your mind and cue your body up for shut-eye.

5. Self-help books can ease depression.

Self-help books might actually help you. Here I can give a great example of a self-help book: “8 Reasons Your Life Matters” by John Herrick. An amazing book that opens your eyes to see how much God cares for you and how important you are in His eyes. I highly recommend it!
Truth is, you’ll never be able to love the “book world” if you never enter it and if you do, you’ll find out that it’s worth it. 😉

IMG_0132IMG_0036

                           So, give it a try! 😀

