For quite some time I’ve been thinking to write an article based on a few ideas I picked up from my life. Now I finally decided to do it. Trying to put them together and write something helpful for you, and also for me.

Last week I heard a speech that included a theme with selfishness and in it the person describe how most of the time, when we are asked to do something in the benefit of others we tend to ask “What’s in it for me?”. Almost all of the time we are looking, or hoping for a reward. And of course, hard work should be repaired, right? Hmm…well, yes. I would also tend to agree. But that’s selfish thinking.

See, sometimes when people are asking us to help them, they immediately make a promise that we will be rewarded, if we help. Those promises might sound familiar with “I promise I’ll give you…”, “I’ll help you also”, “I owe you one”, and others. Seem familiar to you?

Well, in my opinion, if we do something for others we should not expect something in return. On the contrary, be happy to help or “lend a hand”. And when the time comes, the person we helped will gladly help us. Without even having to ask.

pizap.com14031678109861

I know people that love their job so much that they do not work for the money, they do it because they love it. It’s just like a hobby. And that’s how our attitude should be in helping others.

The attitude and the heart you do it with matters very much. I’ll illustrate an example that will show what I mean.

When I was a little kid, rarely I was asked to clean the house, and when I was I’d have to admit I did it with a heavy heart. But I remember that one day I was alone home and had an idea. To clean the house before anyone gets home and make my parents proud. I did the best I could to make the entire house sparkle and had a huge satisfaction when my parents told me that they’re proud of me.

Now you see, when we are asked to do something or maybe obligated, we do what we have to with a heavy heart, but when we do it from our own initiative we do it gladly. It all depends on our attitude. And not only that we help others but we also help ourselves. With what? Not only do you create a good imagine for yourself, but you will make others glad that you’re their friend or family member.

Yes, some people might take granted from your kindness and help, but try not to look towards that, but to the wonderful gesture you have done to them. It will always be appreciated by someone. Sometimes you might not think so, but God sees and knows everything, He will always reward you. In wonderful ways you will never expect.

Helping others does not consist only in work, but also in advice, encouragement, being there for them.

pizap.com14031673436711

I’ll leave you with a few verses from the Bible that say:

“Do everything in love.” 1 Corinthians 16:14

“In the same way, let your light shine before men, that they may see your good deeds and praise your Father in heaven.” Matthew 5:16

Not only that you will be an example for others, but you will make God’s will in your life. And that is very worth it!

So do everything in love and from your heart, and wait and see the blessings you will have, but not from people, from God. Remember that!

Every man is capable of anything. God is the only One who will do what he had promised.” God is the only one that will reward!

IMG_1411

