Great-Mountains-mountains-and-waterfalls-9842020-1920-1440

Life can be associated with a mountain. We are all climbers, trying to find our way to the top, but as in real life, sometimes we face obstacles climbing and we have to stop/take a break, or sometimes even back down a bit. It is not easy, we look back, and forget to keep our head up until we reach the top. Just like in life.

One of our biggest problems as human beings is that we look back at our past instead of focusing only on our future. Logically, if we think about it, the past is gone, and there’s nothing that we can do to change it. Besides, nothing good ever comes in focusing on our past.

There’s a quote I very much admired, that said…“When the past calls, let it go to voicemail. It has nothing new to say.” I don’t know about you but I agree. Make the past your annoying mother-in-law, cause I’m pretty sure you’d not answer if your mother-in-law would call you, maybe with a huge exception when she happens to be nice, but that’s rare. Same goes with the past.

I’ll stick to my point. Same as a mountain, life has it’s own fears, that basically we create ourselves. For example, I don’t know about you but I’ve heard lots of people that hesitate to climb a mountain for many ridiculous reasons like “what if a bear attacks me?”, or “what if I get lost?”. Ok clearly, these people don’t know much about mountains. First, yes, a bear can attack you. If you meet him, pull his ears and ask if the blueberries have ripen. Otherwise, the bear is just as frightened as you and only wants to protect it’s territory and cubs, if it is the case.

Another example is “what if I get lost?”. Yes, if you get a blindfold before you get on track. If you check a map or signs at the entrance of the trial and know what mark you have to follow, you can never get lost. Moreover, occasionally, there are signs that tell you how to get to your destination. Perfect example of my life is the fact that I’ve loved travelling but never been much of a traveller. I’ve always been used to stay at home and when it comes to going somewhere far away by myself I back down. Created my own fear, and started believing that I won’t manage and unconsciously lowered my self esteem. But my story has a happy ending cause I found a person that made me believe I can, now I’m stubborn, courageous, adventurous and willing to risk it to get the biscuit. All for fun or all for nothing, as I say.

iStock_big_jump_Small

In life you will always have family, friends and other people to advise you on your journey and you are capable on going anywhere and doing anything as long as you believe in yourself.

mountain-climbers-reaching-summit

“You can summit the biggest mountain by simple taking the first step.” says Gail Goodwin, and guess what? She is right! There’s not a single mountain that can’t be climbed. Just like in life, we are all born as babies, totaly dependable, and pretty much not knowing to do anything. We first learn to walk and talk. But to take that first step we need help, sustainment. So if you’re parents are incorrigible, use that! Or if you have an encouraging friend, grab him, hold tight and never let go! It’s very important to be supported in order to live strong. Why do you think there’s so many of us climbing this mountain we so call “life”? To encourage and be encouraged.

10501735_10152681390702650_1850248203665319564_n

Just like a baby, you need to take that first step if you ever want to learn how to walk. Same goes with your fears, take that first step towards them and be pleasantly surprised how well it will turn out. Maybe not at first, but if you keep trying, you’ll succeed. And just to be clear, I don’t mean taking a first step towards a real bear. So apply this in life, but not on a real mountain in case you meet a bear. But those changes are one in a million, so relax.

Next, ridges are too narrow to walk on them. Well, truly, some mountains are very difficult to climb, you might be forced to use chains and ropes not to fall. The ridges are life’s struggles and problems. The difficulties we face while climbing. But it’s the narrow path that leads to paradise. The coveted top. All we have to do is keep moving forward, don’t look back no matter what. If you’re a real athlete than you know what it means to practice your sport every single day, train hard and do anything to succeed.

screenwriter-respect-the-climb

“You can win many trophies, but what truly matters is that feeling of happiness you get when you win.” quote made by me. (Sometimes I play with words and make a pretty good quote). That amazing feeling of freedom you get when you stand on top of the mountain, after so much effort of getting there is priceless. But I want to give you a little tip, don’t focus so much on the happiness of being on top of the mountain that you forget to enjoy the progress you’ve made while climbing. It’s good to have a goal in life, but even better to enjoy every progress you’ve made so far.

I, personally, enjoy every new follower, like and comment I receive. And any good achievement I’ve made. I believe a lot of people do. Because it brings out the best in them and urge to carry on.

Life is what happens when you’re busy making other plans. So never get so busy making a living that you forget to make a life.

In this article I wanted to make a comparison between life and mountains, showing that the fears we have on mountains can easily be similar to the fears we have in life. And that we might focus so much on being successful, or simply to succeed on something that we forget to enjoy the small accomplishments we make along the way. When a child learns to walk he takes the risk of fall and enjoys every step he makes, with or without the parents help. Why not do the same in your life?

guy_celebrates_after_climbing_a_mountain

I wanted to make it a little funny, enjoyable, helpful…in two ways. If you decide to go on a mountain for the first time, this article may be a little helpful (but I advice you to take at least a friend) and to understand life a little better. Because as complicated as it may seem, as bumpy as this road we’re on might get…there’s always a reason to smile, find it. There’s always something to enjoy.

To have the fear of not succeeding is worse that trying and failing. Why? Because by not even trying you’ll never get anywhere, but by trying and not giving up, you will succeed one day.

I urge you to be courageous in climbing you’re life’s mountain. And take every step you make as an accomplishment, not a burden. Enjoy it, live it, love it. You’re life will suddenly change into better. And so will you.

