IMG_4323Sibiu, the hidden gem among the mountains. A city with a unique history, great destiny, opportunities, friendly faces and an exemplar mayor that became the president of the country a few months ago.

Sibiu is one of the most important cultural centres of Romania and was designated the European Capital of Culture for the year 2007, along with the city of Luxembourg. Formerly the centre of the Transylvanian Saxons, the old city of Sibiu was ranked as “Europe’s 8th most idyllic place to live” by Forbes.

A few weeks ago I’ve decided to write an article about Sibiu, after all, it is my hometown. But because my lack of inspiration, ideas and probably not the right moment, I left it as simple unfinished draft, of course planning to continue it for some other time.

As time vanished I even forgotten about it, and now I am glad I did, because in these moments I see it all through other eyes, have different ideas, am inspired, and of course, I wouldn’t have had this introduction.

A few days ago I read an article entitled “Why do I love California?” and regret I haven’t hit the blog’s “Follow” button or at least remember its link because I can’t find it anymore. In it the person described so simple and yet so enjoyable what she loves about her favorite city. My idea was to make it an informational post where I include some boring information that could definitely be found on-line and probably way more well-written than mine. Instead, I’ll make it a simple, yet hopefully enjoyable post with things and experiences I’ve personally lived during my years here in Sibiu.

Born and raised here, I’ve grew up knowing that Sibiu isn’t just a boring historic setting, even thought it is called a historic city. Sibiu has a unique beauty that isn’t only reflected in buildings, but in nature. We are surrounded all around by a mountain range that offers us an astonishing view. Not to mention the mountain resorts that are quite as fun in winter (for skiing, snowboarding, sleigh rides, sauna, etc) as in summer (for hikes, camping, and barbecue out in fresh air) at only 19 miles away from Sibiu.

Sibiu-panorama

We have our own airport, which gives me the pleasure to see planes everyday. They fly right above my house according to their airline route, and I have to admit, don’t hate hearing those planes come and go, makes me feel like in movies.

Sibiu has a huge outdoor museum called “ASTRA” also known as “The Village Museum”, filled with houses and things similar to the ones people used to live in, and how life looked like years before any technology was invented. I remember walking barefoot in hot summer days on the asphalt paths of the museum, it felt like I was living in a novel. And it is pretty great to have a museum that reflects our history and culture and be able to just take a walk and feel like for a moment you are wondering off in history.

pizap.com14274572825741

I love the enormous park we have, besides the other numerous smaller ones that can be found in every neighborhood. Its just like a forest you could get lost in. A peaceful place to recreate, an escape from urban environment. The photos captured in that park are incredible, the colors and contrasts of fall are simply the art of nature. Anyone should take a few artistic photos there!

I’m so grateful that Sibiu is not a very crowded city with a high population number. Personally, I despite when a cities population is way over flow, where you see cars literally almost hit each other on the road, honking, people bumping into you on the street, and there’s no place to throw a needle (romanian expression). Sibiu is not a crowded city, and that’s one of the things I love the most.

Numerous festivals, theater plays and parades take place every year, offering laughter and excitement to our city. Fireworks often fill the night sky with colorful shades. Bands and singers from around the world come to perform in our city center. And let’s not forget the Red Bull Romaniacs and Sibiu Rally that race every year on our pitch.

sibiu2-sibiu-rally-erc-2013-crinti-1-1118530529

Last but not least, something we inhabitants of Sibiu are really proud about, our Mayor, Klaus Werner Iohannis is now the president of the country. He is a man worthy of all honor, while he was our mayor he did great things for the city, that put Sibiu in history.

There would be so much more to say, but I leave it up to you, dear reader, to find out more.And if you’re ever in Europe pay us a visit! There are so much more exciting things to do and interesting places to go.

Travel / Explore / Embrace / Learn / Live.

~ Warrior of Light

