too-much-happiness1For the last few months or so, I was longing – longing to read a book. But not just any book for the sake of reading. Like I’ve said in the past, I am no bookworm, but I know how to appreciate a good, well-written book.

Everything started from a simple book review on Alice Munro’s short story collection “Too much happiness“. I don’t usually read book reviews but I read that one by accident, after reading that, something just clicked. And in my heart was born the desire to read this book.

After asking a few people I knew owned the book or at least might do, I gave up my search with no luck. The reason I couldn’t just go ahead and buy it is because I’m saving up for really important stuff like getting my driver’s license, and others. So if I’d end up buying all the books I’d love to read then I wouldn’t have any chance to pursue some life goals that have been planed for years now.

I’ve just told a very small number of people that I dream of reading that book, without even hoping that someone would make a change somehow, and now, just a few weeks later I own the book and have already read the first story. I received the book as a gift. And yes, so far it is all that I dreamed it would be.

It is the first book I have ever come across by Alice Munro. But its all it takes to realize why the author won the Nobel Prize in literature in 2013. Her writing style is simple, but profound.

And here are some of her words…

“I want my stories to move people. I don’t care if they are men or women or children. I want my stories to be something about life that causes people to say — not ‘Oh, isn’t that the truth,’ — but to feel some kind of reward from the writing. And that doesn’t mean that it has to be a happy ending or anything, but just that everything the story tells moves the reader in such a way that you feel you are a different person when you finish.” ~ Alice Munro. 

Like I’ve said, I’ve just started reading but already fell in love with her writing style, and if you ever read one of her books then you know what I mean. When I finish it I’d like to write a book review on it with my own words explaining what the book meant to me, what I’ve loved about it and why is it worth reading.

Currently I’m reading two books, by two different authors. The other one being “The Longest Ride” by Nicholas Sparks, 140103-pbr-spedition-678x1033another author I’m really fond of. And which books review will definitely come up really soon. And nope – I won’t mix up their stories, if that’s what you’re thinking. I’ve heard of people that read four books at once, and which I just happen to know. So yeah, it is possible.

I’d like to end this article with a “Did you know?” short text I found about books on StumbleUpon entitled “Old Book Smell“…

“Lingnin, the stuff that prevents all tress from adopting the weeping habit, is a polymer made up of units that are closely related to vanillin. When made into paper and stored for years, it breaks down and smells good. Which is how divine providence has arranged for secondhand bookstores to smell like good quality vanilla absolute, subliminally stoking a hunger for knowledge in all of us.” 

All the best,

Theo.

