11063202_954376724581616_1491536363_n

You’re probably tired of hearing the “How to make the world around you a better place?” question, so am I. Therefore, this blog post won’t be just another boring conversation on this subject.

Google is filled with dozens of  blog posts and articles that offer steps, making the readers believe they could actually change the world with just a few instructions.

The problem has always been just one: you. 

You see, we all believe that the people around us should change in order for us to live in a “better” world, when in fact we can’t change a person no matter how hard we try. So why lose friends and dear ones while trying to change them?

Each of us holds the power to change our world in our own daily life, the right way is by changing yourself, not others. The people around you are influenced to give back what you offer them, at least that’s the normal way things go, if not, it means that a person has a problem, not you, but I referred to just one, not everyone.

You and me, we have a filter. This filter is used to strain everything we come in contact with, people, conversations, food, even the things we hear and see, this filter decides how we interpret everything. That’s why no two people ever read the same book.

Our filter decides the way we react to what a person tells us,  if it hurt or offended you, cheer or encourage you, help or disappoint you. In order to make your world a better place you need to decide how you’ll filter everything that happens to you within 24h.

Firstly, choose to accept the people around you just the way they are. Its their decision if they change or not, not yours, you can only change yourself and by doing so, you’ll influence them in a positive way. Soon your world will start to improve.

Secondly, remember to control your filter instead of letting it control you. We all grew in different families, cultures, religions, with different habits, therefore we tend to characterize something as “weird” if it doesn’t match our life style and taste.

Thirdly, get rid of evil influences. The Bible talks about their effects (“Bad company corrupts good morals“), if your friends do not encourage your good habits or are even against them, get rid of them and get them out of your circle of influence. I know it seems harsh, but that’s for your own good and even their own. If you continue to let yourself influenced by those who help you in your good habits over time you will deny these habits and you’ll become like them. But if you get rid of them, you will continue your good habits, and they will miss you. It is logical, then they will look for you because they need such a friend!

A mistake I made for a long time was waiting for people to change, show interest in my life, expect to be understood but never tried to understand, accept and love. I was self-centered which got its roots pretty bad deep down in me. Since I embraced the advices I offered above, my world started to improve. I’m a much happier person, and so are the people around me. Now I try to live by this quote:

“My goal in life is to be as good of a person as my dog already thinks I am.”

A last golden advice is treat others the way you would want to be treated. With all of that being said, I’ll end by encouraging you to watch the next inspirational video, even if you’ve already seen it, I recommend you review it.

Thank you for reading this article and I hope you succeed in making your world better. This method is tested and works.

Have a pleasant weekend !

Theo.

