I’ll start by saying that after my birthday I’ve been asked the same age old question by more people than I can count and that question was “How do you feel now that you are 18?”

My answer to most of them was a quick short response in which I explained my joy of finally getting to drive a car.

Probably most of you that will read this article are over 18 years old, so in addition you know that turning 18 is just like turning any other age, no major changes happen. But the truth is, there is only one change that is bigger and more important than any other, and that is being responsible for your own life, taking the matter into your own hands and being the one that will have to make all the decisions from now on.

The weight of that fact lies on my shoulders.

  • I’m responsible for every decision I make, I have to do things that are out of my comfort zone.
  • I must go to places I’ve never been alone before.
  • If I don’t speak out, no one will.
  • Understand that people’s opinions don’t matter when it comes to decisions that only concern me. Choice is mine.
  • Maturity is a journey that has not yet finished.
  • Being able to vote is being responsible for my country.
  • 18 is just a number and age as any other.
  • Childhood was better.

List can be endless, and the truth is that turning 18 was more like being thrown from the top of a cliff into the large abyss of “adulthood”. Which is difficult!
Childhood was a stress-free zone, no worries or responsibilities and when you are a child being 18 sounds amazing, but as soon as you’re an adult, you regret those years passed by so quickly.


I’ve dreamed of turning 18 my entire life. Mostly because I couldn’t wait to get my driver’s license and well, drive. I’m very found of cars.

I am aware of every responsibility that comes my way, of all the things I’ll face and that I still have so much to learn, but despite all of that, life has to move on. We have to grow. So why not enjoy our journey every now and then? Train is moving anyway.

Now I’m a member in my society, but we all know how it is, if not, read the following poem that brings out the truth:

Welcome to society,

We hope you enjoy your stay,

And please feel free to be yourself,

As long as it’s in the right way,

Make sure you love your body,

Not too much or we’ll tear you down,

We’ll bully you for smiling,

And then wonder why you frown,

We’ll tell you that you’re worthless,

And then cry with all the others,

As you’re buried in the ground,

You can fall in love with anyone,

As long as it’s who we choose,

And we’ll let you have your opinions,

But please shape them to our views,

Welcome to society,

We promise that we won’t deceive,

And one more rule now that you’re here,

There’s no way you can leave.

Poem by Erin Hansen 

