Definition

For those that do not know the full definition of ASMR, its Autonomous sensory meridian response. A euphoric experience characterized by a static-like or tingling sensation on the skin that typically begins on the scalp and moves down the back of the neck and upper spine, precipitating relaxation.

Source

I started experiencing ASMR from a young age at certain times whilst seeing my cousins playing with certain object and inducing certain sounds. ASMR often has a massage role, a virtual one that is.

Although I only mentioned my interest in ASMR to one person and refused to talk about it until now, I believe it’s important I share all the information I know so far since there might be people that could be experiencing the same struggles and asking the same questions as I am.

Usually, ASMR can be induced through certain videos found on YouTube, most of them created by ordinary, normal people. Each person is filming from the confort of their own home. Some videos are role play’s, some are simply created out of sounds such as tapping, whispering or others.

Cause

ASMR has helped many people relax and fall asleep at night. It induces tingles that are highly enjoyable and pleasing. As only other, it can create its own addiction. Before you know it, insomnia disappeared but addiction kicked in. Why? Simple, it became a habit, brain will trick you by inducing fake insomnia so that you will feed it the tingles ASMR induces.

Is ASMR a bad thing? 

Yes – is it became an addiction. If it becomes the only thing that helps you fall asleep anymore at night. If it takes up too much of your time. Is the AMSR artists you watch on YouTube speak words of non sense. They could be calling a spell upon you and you wouldn’t even know it.

No – it could be a great way to relax when pills fail, insomnia is at its worst or you’re experiencing trauma in your life and you need to take your mind of things for a little while.

Conclusion

As presented, ASMR has its up’s and down’s. What do we learn from it though? Question is, is it really harmful?

I personally believe that any addiction is harmful. Chocolate addiction can lead to diabetes. Food addiction leads to obesity. Electronic addictions lead to amnesia, sometimes death.

What if it isn’t an addiction? 

That is a question of which I am not 100% sure of its answer. I do enjoy ASMR myself, although I couldn’t say I’ve gotten as far to reach an addicting level. Being something I have personally experienced during childhood and accidentally discovering it few months ago on YouTube lead me to even writing this article. I believe that, at the end of the day it really just depends on you. As long as it doesn’t control you, it can not hurt you. Just be open minded to the fact that not every fruit in the forest is edible, some are poisonous.

